Cakes, Cupcakes, Cuptails, Food

Cuptails April – White Russians

“Whatever happened to the April Cuptails?! You said you’d have a new cuptail every month!” is the cry that I imagine came from the internet at the end of April. I assure you, the April cuptails were not forgotten. In fact, they were baked and swiftly devoured at the end of April, but due to an unexpected business trip and issues with not being able to get pictures from my new phone to my computer, I’ve not had chance to write up this post sooner.

The theme for April’s cuptails was White Russian. There was no particular reason for this, I had hoped to do some ‘English’, in honour of St George’s Day, but couldn’t find anything that seemed suitable. Plus, it was the end of the month and I had to make do with what I had in – in this instance, vanilla vodka and coffee liqueur.

IMG_0008

Here’s the recipe – there was more than enough for 12 large cupcakes.

110g butter/margarine

225g caster sugar

2 eggs

125g self raising flour (This was all that I had in – you could use 250g of self raising flour if you want!)

125g plain flour

50ml milk

25ml (ish) Smirnoff vanilla vodka

25ml (ish) coffee liqeur

Note – I only used vanilla vodka because this was something I happened to have in (I’m not sure where it came from – I think a friend must have bought it round at some point). Feel free to substitute for plain vodka and a dash (1 tsp) of vanilla.

Cream butter and sugar together, then add eggs slowly, adding flour if mixture starts to curdle. Add remaining flour, then add milk and booze. Mix well, transfer to cupcake cases and bake at 180 degrees C.

IMG_0009

My cakes came out of the oven looking… well done. I’d just finished baking something in the oven at a higher temperature, and turned the oven down after throwing the cakes in to cook. Check cakes are fully baked – I stab the middle of the largest cake with a toothpick, and if it comes out clean, it’s done. The well done cakes went down a treat – the outside was crispy, the middle was airy and light. In all honesty, they may have been the best cakes I’ve made in a while! (even better than the G&T cakes made in March)


IMG_0012

I had planned on icing the cuptails, but after my partner and I performed the first quality control tasting, colleagues at work wanted to double check our results… and then there were only 4 left to ice. It seemed pointless icing 4 cakes, so I didn’t bother. However, if I HAD iced them, I would have mixed up butter, icing sugar and boozy goodness (and perhaps a dash of milk) to pipe onto the top.

That’s all for this last month, hopefully the May cuptails will be along soon! If there’s a cocktail that you’d like to see in a cupcake, tell us in the comments and we’ll see what we can do.

Standard

Leave a Reply

