Cakes, Chocolate, Food

Double Chocolate Brownies

It’s been a while since I’ve made brownies, and I’ve managed to misplace my “go to” brownie recipe which I loved. I don’t like nuts in my brownies so was delighted to come across a simple double chocolate brownie recipe with no nuts in sight. These were a massive hit with friends that visited, and I’ve had to make them another couple of times since then.

 

Ingredients:

  • 300g caster sugar
  • 115g butter/margarine
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • Pinch of salt
  • 115g dark chocolate, broken into pieces
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 140g plain flour
  • 100g white chocolate chips
  • 2 eggs

 

Method:

Preheat oven to 170 deg C

Start off by putting the butter/margarine and broken up chocolate into a pan and heating until the butter and chocolate have melted. Allow this to cool.

While cooling, weigh out sugar and vanilla essence. Add this to the melted mixture and stir in.

Add the eggs (one at a time is probably best) to the mixture, ensuring they are fully combined. If mixture is too hot at this point then the eggs will cook – I have a feeling that brownies with scrambled egg is not a pleasant delicacy…

Once the eggs have been mixed in with the chocolate/sugar/butter mix, begin adding the flour and cocoa powder and stir in gradually. If you stir too quickly then flour goes everywhere and you have to clean up. Trust me, I’ve made this error so that you don’t have to.

The final thing to go into the mix is the white chocolate chips (or plain, or milk, or a mixture. It’s completely up to you). Give it a quick stir, and voila! The mix is done and it just needs cooking.

Pour the mixture into a greased or lined tin. I used foil backed parchment paper because it was all I had to hand, but if you grease the tin before you pour you should be ok. Hopefully your oven should be nice and warm by now, ready for the brownie mix. It needs to cook for about 35-40 minutes. The top should be just starting to crack a little bit.

Let it cool, then remove from tin and cut into individual pieces (or don’t, we won’t judge you).

The first and third time I made this, I added a topping before cutting it up. All I did was melt some white chocolate, and spread it over the top of the brownie before melting some dark chocolate and putting that over the white chocolate in lines. I just used a spoon, and melting too much dark chocolate in this version. Looks messy, tasted great.Brownies 8 topping

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

